The State of the Garden – Roses Finally!

Ah –  I shall regret these word before the month is over, but why, oh, why another cold snap. And more rain. I had just considered putting the sweaters away for the year, as I am greeted by frigid temperatures on my morning walk through the garden. The flower seedlings in the basement were going outside, maybe even dare to start a few early tomatoes in the beds, see if they live. Plant the bush beans and harvest the last carrots so I can turn the bed with fresh compost in preparation for spring squash. It will all have to wait !

DSC00463

I really don’t mind the time off garden chores, however I am concerned for my freshly budded hydrangeas and the wonderful sea of peach and apricot blossoms on the trees. The plum, luckily, has already completed blooming and the apple tree is showing not a sign of leaf, making him either smarter then all the other trees, or – well – dead. I hope to be wrong about the latter.

With plenty of rain and lots of hot temperatures at the beginning of the week, the spring blooms are in their finale showing, and some of the early summer flowers are already making an appearance. Like every year, the first roses to show their splendor are the Drift Roses and the Knock-outs. The first blossoms are opening and lots more waiting for warmer weather to return. The other roses are not far behind, with the ” Generous Gardener” showing 24 flower buds right now.  I hope it will be a wonderful rose season this year.

 

We did have time to set some new potatoes in the large vegetable bed, working around some winter onions and red potatoes re-sprouted from the fall. The little guy was so excited to mount the potato bed with new compost and was overjoyed by every straggler potato we had missed during our fall harvest. They were still nice and fresh – therefore buttered potatoes and sausage was a must for dinner.

The lettuce overwintered just fine this year without much protection and is really loving all the rain. The re-growing “lolo rosso” variety is in it’s third harvest and still growing strong. More seedlings are sprouting in the basement right now, therefore we should have plenty of lettuce until the real heat sets in. The peas are slower then expected but looking promising. I am struggling to balance the fertilizer on them, having killed a whole set with too much compost love and having to start over. As much as I love to eat them, the English shelling pea is a challenge in our clay soil. I should grow more sugar snap peas, that easily produce here in the south, but I just don’t enjoy eating them as much. I will eventually break down and adjust my taste to my garden.

So while I am waiting for nicer weather, I have started to lay out the “kids garden area” –  a part of the garden that is dominated by my sons sandbox and play equipment as well as my shed. I am not sure yet where my planning will take me. However  I have discussed a rough timeline for preparations and clean up with the other half, and we hope to do a large planting next fall or in the coming spring. And while pulling ivy and cutting down the overgrown bamboo forest is not my ideal of a summer well spent, it is always inspiring to make new plans. To set out a new creation. To be excited for the future.

 

2 thoughts on “The State of the Garden – Roses Finally!

  1. I enjoyed picturing your lovely garden as I read your narrative. Hope your plants–especially your hydrangeas–are spared from cold damage, and that your apple tree surprises you.

    Love picturing your son finding potatoes from the fall, and then eating them for dinner!

    Good luck in the next night or two. : )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

